User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Champagne Scramble - Macreddin Golf Club September 7th

9:45 Ted Kennedy Tom Ryan Chappy Cousins Pat Jordon
9:55 Tom Wilkinson Joe Kenny John Doyle Frank Doyle
10:05 Donal Levingston Jeremy Butler Aidan Travers Shane Byrne
10:15 Ben Mclellan Mick Shortall Gerry Byrne Richard Cosgrave
10:25 Shay Clinton Peter Deegan Mick Brennan Jim Cullen

Three Man Team Conquer Severe ‘Macreddin’ Test

Last Saturday, after the summer break, twenty hardened golfers arrived to take on a challenging Macreddin course. With testing conditions of rain and wind, it seemed that there were golf balls flying everywhere except down the fairways.

One thing is for sure, Frank Doyle and Jim Cullen were determined to use all their ammunition. When they removed their bags from the buggy after the ordeal, they would have felt considerably lighter.

However, Jim Cullen still finished on the winning team with 95 points along with Peter Deegan, Mick Brennan and your esteemed captain which demonstrated the strength in depth and team ethic of the winners.

One point behind were Donal Levingston, Jeremy Butler, Aidan Travers and Shane Byrne.

Taking third spot on the podium were Ted Kennedy, Tom Ryan, Chappy Cousins, and Barty Turner.

It should also be noted that the recent winners of the Captains prizes in Coollattin are both society members. Congrats to Ted and Siobhan on their achievements! I am sure that both would acknowledge that they could not have achieved this success without being part of a stable of such talented golfers. Although both course and distance winners already this year, you can have 16/1 on either achieving the double on October 5th.

All roads now lead to Coollattin with the last major in a few weeks. If games need to be sharpened up, now is the time to do it. The captains prize will be followed by the last outing of the year in Arklow on October 26th.

Many thanks on behalf of the Society to Shane Byrne for setting up the website( It will be launched on the night of the captains prize.